Munchkin what is a small item




















It caused quite a dispute. Re: Big vs. What is classified as a "small" item, rather than a "big" item? Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater. Find More Posts by Andrew Hackard. The problem here is that Star and Super doesn't actually have any Big Items, so that part of the rules might be a bit confusing.

Also the size-aspect is dropped from the Items-description in the rules. The only place you can find it is in the "combining this game with Munchkin" part at the end of the Star Munchkin rules. The rules state under Big Items on page 3 that: You may carry any number of Small items, but only one Big one. Any item not marked Big is considered Small. Most of them are Treasures, but some are Doors. A Treasure is any card from the Treasure deck. Any player has the ability to carry items. However, you can only equip 1 headgear, 1 suit of armor, 1 set of footgrear, and either two 1 hand items or one 2 hand item.

An opponent played a Curse on me while I was going through the discards. Is it legal for me to grab a Wishing Ring to use to cancel the Curse, even if it wasn't the card I intended to pull? Playing Wand of Dowsing and pulling the card from the discard pile counts as a single action, so the effect of the Curse has to wait until you are done. Even if you had said what card you were going for, you're allowed to change your mind until you actually complete the action.

However, once you have pulled the card, the Curse happens — if you don't get a card that will let you cancel the Curse, you have to resolve the Curse's effects before playing the card you just pulled out of the discard pile. I used an ability to automatically kill a monster. Another player used Wandering Monster to add a monster to the fight, and then played Transferral Potion to move the monster to himself. He beat it. Who gets the level and Treasures for the monster I killed? As of July , if you automatically killed the only monster, combat ended and this whole sequence can't happen.

If there were other monsters still fighting, however, this sequence is legal. You get the level and Treasures from the monster you killed after the transferred combat has been resolved. If the other player also wins, you draw Treasures first.

This has been ruled different ways at different times, but we got a ruling directly from Steve, so it is official. The Hireling confuses me. It's basically another Cheat! But it's vulnerable to the Kill the Hireling Go Up a Level card, and anything that makes you lose the Hireling takes the attached Item with it.

Can an Orc use his power to remove a curse retroactively? What if he has a Chicken on his Head when he becomes an Orc — can he break the curse at that point? If an Orc does not use his power at the moment he is hit with the Curse, it takes full effect, and he can't use his Orc ability to remove it later. Why doesn't an Orc get some kind of bonus for dealing with the 3, Orcs monster card? Rather than put a rule on a Race card that refers to a single monster card or rewrite a monster card to refer to a Race that isn't even in the same set, we decided that the monster orcs are just as hostile to a munchkin Orc as they are to any other munchkin.

What does "every other player" mean on the Generosity curse? It means every player who is not the victim. The intent is for the victim to give all of his stuff to all of the other players. The Lust Monster says ". Does this mean I cannot use cards on it like Out to Lunch? Even though it says you must Run Away, it does not say you have to do so immediately.

So while you cannot fight the monster, you can use other cards on it, and if you can remove the monster from the fight entirely, the restriction is also removed.

As soon as Squidzilla appears, combat ends and you must try to Run Away immediately. Can you explain the Siege Engine to me? Can I play Annihilation to cancel a monster I just drew when I kicked open the door?

If so, what happens? Put the monster in the box and forget about it. However, because this was not a card played by an opponent, you do not get to cancel the monster or Kick Open another Door. And because the monster was in play, however briefly, you were in combat for that short time and therefore you cannot Look For Trouble or Loot The Room.

I just killed a monster to reach Level My opponent played Trojan Horse and the Plutonium Dragon and said I couldn't level up and therefore win the game until I killed the Dragon. Who's right? Congratulations on your victory! Trojan Horse cancels the Treasure but not the levels from one combat and immediately starts a new one. If the result of the first combat brought you to Level 10, the game is over and Trojan Horse can't be played. My opponent added a Wandering Monster.

What happens if I Annihilate the monster? What about the Wandering Monster card itself? In both cases, the card you Annihilate goes into the box and is forgotten, and the other card goes back into your opponent's hand.

I played Curse! Cursed Thingy on an Item and we aren't sure how it works. Can I unequip the Item? What special abilities e. You cannot unequip the Item; it takes up a useful Item slot until you lift the Curse or contrive to get rid of it. Here are some specific examples of effects that Cursed Thingy can have this is not a comprehensive list :. Does Curse! Tiny Hands prevent me from carrying an Item that requires 2 Hands, or just from equipping it?

It prevents you from carrying it, just like the card says. It also prevents you from equipping it, of course, unless you Cheat! How does the Casting Couch work? Casting Couch gives you the option to have all the benefits and penalties to being a Wizard along with any other Class es you might be. It is, in effect, an optional extra Class card. No matter what, you must decide whether you are using the Casting Couch at the start of combat i. If you do choose to use it, you are -1 to Run Away.

How does the Stab-A-Matic work? A Thief using the Stab-A-Matic gets a "bonus" to his backstabbing efforts, so each is good for a -3 penalty instead of the normal Convenient Handles lets me turn a Big item into a small item. So could a Thief put convenient handles on someone else's Big item, and then try to steal it?

You can't play enhancers on other people's Items unless the card specifically says so. Do I immediately discard the second Steed? Is it killed? And if so, if it was the Tiger Steed, would it come back to my hand? You'd have to lose a Steed because you're only allowed one. This would not be the kind of event that allows your Tiger Steed to be returned to your hand. Is there anything special I have to do for Steed Enhancers? Steed Enhancers work and are played just like Item Enhancers, except they can only be played on Steeds.

Yes, it does. Not unless the card itself says you can. If I decide not to use a Steed, can I unequip it by turning the card sideways?

Steeds cannot be unequipped at all and certainly not to play another one. If, somehow, you find yourself with a Steed that you can't use but can't get rid of, it does count against your Big item total; you only get to ignore a Steed's Bigness when you're actually riding it.

What if I'm Level 9 and can't gain a level unless I kill a monster? And what if I'm using a special trick die so I'm guaranteed to roll a 6? Normally, using a trick die would be very much against the spirit of the rules, but the text on this card leaves that door wide open. Do I get Treasures or levels when I tame a monster? You didn't kill it. If I'm fighting multiple monsters, when does the taming happen?

It happens as soon as you discard to make it happen; your new Steed will help you against the other monsters. If I tame a monster, what happens to my old Steed? What if I somehow have multiple Steeds? Discard the old one s.

The tamed Steed replaces all Steeds you might have had previously. Does my tamed Steed count as a Big item? Because it does not have a Gold Piece value, it is not an Item and is not affected by any cards that specifically target Items. It follows all other rules for Steeds, however. If I discard a tamed monster, what happens to the card? It goes to the Door discards. It's not a Steed any more. It's a monster again. Do I keep my tamed Steed if I quit being a Ranger?

Yes, until you play another Steed. If potions, enhancers, etc. Taming a Steed is similar to the Wizard's Charm Spell, so one-shot Items if it was the only monster in the fight , monster enhancers, and so on get discarded. Rulings on the forums have been inconsistent, but this is the official answer. The Steed Enhancer remains on Horse Shoes , but they do not add to its bonus as long as you are using them as Footgear. In the Dungeon of Comprehensive Curses, it says a Curse that affects one munchkin affects all munchkins.

What happens with a Curse like Income Tax that already affects everyone? Since Income Tax is already effectively a comprehensive Curse, play it as written on the Income Tax card. That's a good one. Because Clerical Error puts you into combat, and you cannot have a bunch of combats going on all at once, we're going to punt and say that Clerical Error cannot be made Comprehensive.

Play that Curse as it's written. I was playing a Dwarf and drew the Dungeon of Utter Uncharitability. The dungeon gives all Dwarves a level upon entering it. Can this be the winning level? The card does not say it can be, so no, it cannot be the winning level. See Important Note 1. The rules say that when you play a Portal card from your hand or kick down the Door to find a Portal, you draw a replacement card.

What happens if I discard a Portal to power an ability or fulfill the effects of Bad Stuff or curses? Because the Portal card was never in play and never took effect, you would not draw a replacement card. I can't unequip or trade Items, but presumably I can't just cheat until the end of the combat, either.

If you have too many Big items, resolve that situation as the rules dictate. If you have too many Hand items, decide which ones remain in play and turn the rest sideways. You cannot normally do this when you are in combat, but you cannot have more Items equipped than you can legally use, either, and you have to resolve that illegal setup before play can continue. So which is it? However, when everyone else leaves the dungeon, they cannot retain the Elf Race. When we leave the Dungeon of Elvish Excess, it says we have to "discard Races down to the normal limit and our elfishness can now be lost or discarded normally".

Does this mean we go back to being what we were? When you leave the dungeon, you must choose between the Races you have previous and Elf and discard down to the number you are allowed to have normally one. At this point you can keep being an Elf or become something else. The Dungeon of Extra Effort says that to win the game we must make it to Level 11, but that Level 10 and 11 are treated the same way.

No, you cannot play a Go Up a Level to go to Level This Dungeon does not change the rules for reaching Level 10 see Important Note 1 ; it just adds a Level 11 beyond it. Listening at the Door replaces your usual Door draw with a Treasure draw.

It does not replace the extra Door draw you get in this Dungeon. Draw a face-down Door and a face-down Treasure. Portal card. Do we get the level? If the Dungeon of Mandatory Murder is the Dungeon you get rid of, then yes, you get the level. If you get rid of another Dungeon, then you don't. What should we do? As of July , we aren't supporting the Epic rules. You can remove this Dungeon if you want replace it with another Dungeon if you drew it in the game or you can play with the Epic rules you have, if your group likes them.

There won't be official Epic rules for any sets that don't already have them, though. Do I need Munchkin 6 to use this expansion? Not at all. It works by itself. Why 6. Because it's similar in format to Munchkin 6 and because we were afraid calling it Munchkin 9 would make people think they had to buy all eight of the previous expansions before picking it up. Does the Mirror Portal's effect cancel when a new Portal is played?

Discard the Mirror Portal at that time. Does one Mirror Portal cancel the other? For a brief instant, before imposing its own reversal.

If you mean, "Does one Mirror Portal undo the other," no. How do Mate and similar cards interact with the Dungeon of Double Trouble? Mate duplicates a single monster; in this case, one of the two twin monsters. You now have three identical monsters. Good luck! What was this set? The first version of Munchkin 7 was More Good Cards , published in MGC was a card expansion that reillustrated some cards from Munchkin Blender and added some new cards as well.

What do I need to get in order to get all the cards from More Good Cards? Full disclosure: there is one Wishing Ring that was not reprinted. We don't think you will miss it. I received Treasure for killing a monster and one of the cards was a Curse. Does this go off as a normal Curse would? How did my Treasure get cursed? This was a misprint. Those Curses should be Door cards and not Treasures. Corrected versions are available in Munchkin Game Changers. We recommend not using the misprinted Curses.

Two major differences:. Nothing although some of the art is different. National Debt? The "change" caused by Freudian Slippers is not an actual sex change for the purposes of cards such as the Revealing Costume.

However, if you lose the Slippers and the last sex you declared yourself is different from the sex you were prior to putting on the Slippers , that change will count and add to the Revealing Costume bonus.

You can only have one of each Race or Class card in play. Even if you play Old Edition to make a Race into a Class or a Class into a Race, you can't play a duplicate of a Race or Class you already have in play for your character.

Since you have disallowed the Epic Munchkin rules, how should we handle the Epic Junior cards? In your own game, if you like the Epic rules, keep playing with them. If you don't like them, or you're playing in a tournament, put those cards back in the box as they come up or pull them out permanently and immediately draw a replacement. In a future printing of this set, we'll replace these cards with something else.

Can I use an expansion for one set with a different set? Sure, but much of the effectiveness and full flavor of the expansion may be lost. While Munchkin sets can be combined in many different ways, some ways are more effective than others. In general, if you use an expansion, you should probably use its associated core set as well. Cheat With Both Hands itself is an exception; you can use it with other Munchkin sets if you like. We made it a fantasy expansion, however, because fantasy Munchkin is far and away the most popular, both on its own and in blended games.

I'm blending regular Munchkin and Munchkin Bites! Do Elves get two levels for helping kill Your Old Character? Elves only get one level per monster they help kill, so they can get the standard Elf helper level or the level for helping you kill your old character, but not both. I'm blending Munchkin Cthulhu and Munchkin Zombies. In general, assume that special rules cross genres unless otherwise instructed. The most current CWBH rules will always include crossover notes, so if you play a lot of blended games, you may want to download a fresh copy occasionally.

I have the Valuable Coupon and the Gift Card in hand. Can I use the Coupon to get the Gift Card plus gold worth of items, and then use the Gift Card to get back the Valuable Coupon, then repeat the process until there are no items left? The Valuable Coupon says it has no cash value, and it means it: it should not even say "No Value," meaning it's not an Item eligible to be grabbed by the Gift Card.

This is an official erratum, fixed in more recent printings. Is the Saddle Horn an exception to that rule? The person responsible for writing the art spec for the Saddle Horn has been punished.

I sacrificed the Phoenix Steed and it went to a player who already had a Steed in play. What happens? When the Phoenix Steed goes to a player who already has the maximum number of Steeds in play, that player must choose one Steed to discard. It doesn't have to be the Phoenix Steed , if he'd prefer to keep that one. The Avatar says you automatically Run Away from all monsters if you lose the combat. What about monsters that say "escape is impossible"? Monsters that prevent Run Away attempts cannot be escaped, even with the Avatar.

This is a changed ruling. What is this? It's a standalone Christmas-themed Munchkin game for three or four players, packaged in a tuckbox and sold for a holiday-friendly low price. Are all the cards new? About half of the cards are new in this game. The rest are taken from previous holiday-themed Munckhin sets or are existing Munchkin cards reillustrated for the holidays.

Check out the Gazebo and the Potted Plant! Can I mix it with my other Munchkin sets? You can , but you might get some duplicate cards with weird effects.

If that doesn't bother you, go for it! Is it already out of print? Unless it's relatively close to the holiday season, it's probably in "the vault"; some of our seasonal sets are only available during the holidays.

It includes two big sparkly pink dice and two new level counters. Does this mean you aren't reprinting the individual mini-expansions? We don't plan to, no. When I play Pixie Potion, do I roll the die immediately? If so, and it goes back into my hand, can I use it again in that fight? Roll when the combat is concluded.

I am fighting a Level 10 monster and another player plays ". And Its Little Friends" on my combat with a Level 15 monster. Which monster counts as the "original monster" when figuring out which Level monsters the other players are able to play? The "original monster" in this case is the one that started the combat. In fact, the other player is unable to play a level 15 monster with.

And Its Little Friends , as that monster must also be under the Level of your original monster. Can I Curse the Munchkinomicon? If the Curse forces the Munchkinomicon to be discarded, it goes back to the top of the Treasure deck, as always. If it is a Curse that makes its bonus into a penalty, or has some other persistent effect, that effect stays on the Munchkinomicon until it returns to the Treasure deck, as stated in the rules.

However, the Munchkinomicon is not bound to a player even if it is hit with a Curse that says so. Can I play Annihilation on the Munchkinomicon? As long as a player has the Munchkinomicon in play, yes, it can be Annihilated. You cannot Annihilate it from the top of the Treasure deck, you munchkin. Put it in the box and forget it. The Munchkinomicon rules say you get it when you die.

But you can't receive cards when you're dead. How does that work? The Munchkinomicon rules supersede the usual Death rules — as soon as your erstwhile friends leave your corpse for the vultures, the Munchkinomicon appears by your side and grants you a Spell.

As the rules say, if more than one player dies on the same turn, the stinking rotting corpses dice it out. If I loot the Munchkinomicon from another player's corpse, do I get a Spell?

The rules aren't clear. If I steal the Munchkinomicon from another player, do I get a Spell? None of those are trades , so yes, you would get a Spell. The rules say I can't draw the Munchkinomicon on the same turn that I sold it or was forced to discard it. Can I use Summon The Book to get it back?

Since the entire purpose of that Spell is to grab the Munchkinomicon for yourself, yes, you can. Can I lure the Munchkinomicon away from a player during combat? Yes, as stated in the Munchkinomicon rules. This is an exception to the usual rules about not equipping or stealing Items during combat.

Active 4 years, 11 months ago. Viewed 10k times. I'd like more concrete info about what you can do with items that are being carried or equipped. Improve this question. Polygon Pusher Polygon Pusher 3 3 silver badges 6 6 bronze badges.

Add a comment. Active Oldest Votes. Can you use the "if you discard this card" effect for items you carry? The rules specifically state under "One-Shot" Treasures on page 3 that they: may be played from your hand or from the table. This does not specify that they have to be equipped to use.

What kind of cards can be carried? No, you cannot carry class cards. The rules state that only Items can be carried, where an Item is defined in the Items section on page 3 by: Most Treasures are Items.

Is there limits to what I can carry? You can carry any number of Items that are not Big, but only one Big Item.



0コメント

  • 1000 / 1000